Sunday, January 30, 2011

Love/Hate Reletionships? Hate 'em

I've never really liked love/hates. It confuses me. I mean, one second she's calling him a jerkwad, and the next they're... making out?

No sense.
At all.

Here is what I envision when I hear of a true love/hate book:

The boy and girl are at a romantic place. Let’s say, for today, it's a dock overlooking the sea. Storm clouds are gathering and the waves are beating at the beach.
" I hate you!" The girl screams dramatically.
" I can't stand you!" The boy says in a deep, sexy tone of voice (also dramatic).
The girl wraps her hands into the boy's perfectly tousled hair, and mashes her mouth into his. The boy freezes for a second, but then he kisses her back.
A huge wave splashes in the background.
 *please stand by while this Kodak moment is taking place*

"Mua! Muah!" They kissed, perfectly in sync with one another.
They pull away for just enough time for these words:
"I love you!" The girl cries dramatically.
"I love you, too!" The boy says in a deep, sexy tone of voice (also dramatic, in fact, more dramatic then the first time even).


They mash lips together once more. They would have stayed that way forever... if that pesky rain hadn’t started.  
They run, hand in hand, to a sexy, secluded spot (yes, cars count) to finish their make-out session.

They live happily ever after.

Wow.... that was funner then I expected!  NOW I know why people love to write love/hates! I'M going to write a love/hate!
But back to the subject at hand.... (omg that was fun) there has to be some attraction before-hand for me. No, an obsession with his finely chiseled abs don't count.
 As long as the book doesn't have the cliche scene portrayed above (which, sadly, a lot of books have) the love is okay.
The love/haters have to have a bonding moment. A place where they say, "Huh, he/she isn't so bad. In fact, he/she is awesome."
Is this the same for you? Or have you had a book you really liked that had a love/hate?

Friday, January 28, 2011

Blog Hop/ Follow Friday

This weekly meme is hosted by http://www.parajunkee.com/
 
What is your favorite subject in school?
Uhh, do I have to pick one? School is mandatory after all ; )
 It's science. We are currently relerning the whole evolotion thing and how the earth came to be. That kind of stuff is interesting to me. I know, NERD!



Book Blogger Hop
This weekly meme is hosted by http://www.crazy-for-books.com/
 
"What book are you most looking forward to seeing published in 2011? Why are you anticipating that book?"
Divergent by Veronica Roth. I need a good dystopian read after the Hunger Games : )
 

Thursday, January 27, 2011

To Reread, or not to Reread?

"If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all." — Oscar Wilde
This post is inspired by this quote. (I'm trying to disprove it ; )



I'm usually good at rereading books. Whenever I run out of new books, I take out an old favorite that I haven't read in a while. Most of the books I reread are just as good, or better, then the first time around. I know whats going to happen, so I don't feel like I have to rush to figure out whats going to happen.  I pay more attention to little details that, before, I missed. Most of the time rereading makes the book more complete to me.

Or I reread a book that I use to love; and end up hating it. Maybe as I get older, my interests change. Maybe, the first time around, I tended to ignore the annoying parts and focus on the storyline; because I already know the whole plot, when I reread I look to the details.

OR the book is amazing, but I read it too many times already/ the whole reason it was so amazing was because of the mystery/action, like Pretty Little Liars. I really wanted to love those books when I reread them, but not so simple if you plain old get tired of them. They were worth reading.

Like Harry Potter. My BFF has read the series about seventeen times (she's on her eighteenth) I got bored after the third time I read it. It's not like it's bad or anything, but I felt as if I pretty much memorized it.

So? Did I prove him wrong, huh? Huh?

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Waiting on Wendsday

WOW is by Jill at Breaking the Spine. A pretty morbid name if you ask me! ; )


Here is my WOW:
Summary:
Braden Michaels wears his sunglasses at night. And at the movies. And in the shower. Raised by his warlock uncle and taught to use magic, he suffers from a deadly curse: the witch eyes. He sees everything that normal eyes filter out: history and memory; love and pain; magic and darkness. The mind was not meant to process so much information, though, and the power is killing him slowly. The only thing saving his sanity are the sunglasses he always wears.


Then the visions reveal a dark threat on the horizon. Braden runs away to Belle Dam, the city where the threat originated, and is immediately swept up into the town’s mysterious feud. Two rival magical families have divided the town into a personal chessboard of scheming and machinations, and Braden is their latest pawn. As he tries to avoid their manipulations, and see the truth behind his return to Belle Dam, he has a choice to make. One side, or the other. Ignite the feud, or end it. Sacrifice himself, or someone else. Live, or die


That is an amazing superpower! Except for the dying part, of course.

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Me, But On Twitter.

Here is my Twitter.

I'm finding it semi-hard to navigate, but yay anyways! I have to get to to accept my picture, then I'll be all set.
Who will be my first Twitter buddy?


The end of my Twitter-esque post.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Stars: 5


Summary from Goodreads: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets √Čtienne St. Claire: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near-misses end with the French kiss Anna—and readers—have long awaited?


Review:
I finished the book a few minutes ago. And I am still in shock of its awesomeness. I am considering buying twenty copies to hand to my closest friends. I believe, that even my friends who are more likely to burn a book then read it, will fall in love with Anna and the French Kiss.




Oh my god. This book is so hawt. I'm going to die. But first I'm moving to Paris. To go to boarding school. Where hot short guys with English accents wander around and talk to people for fun.

              =  > )    ( My impression of an amazing French/English/American/ Etienne St. Clair emote.
 Oui,oui. Or, the Americanized version, wee wee.)


The writing was so easy, it didn't sound forced at all. It felt like I was talking to a friend instead of reading a book. Anna and the French Kiss was never dull. Romance, it has to have some slow parts, right? WRONG. I never felt the need to take a break from this pure amazingness. I was smiling the whole book. My mouth is numb from smiling so much. ( And it hurts I swear I've never smiled for so long is my life.)


Even the supporting characters were so real, the I memorized there names. Margaret/Mar, Rashmi/Rash, Josh. I tend to forget about the supporting characters most of the time : P When I think of Anna's Dad, I think of Nicolas Sparks. (Haha....)
I think Anna's love of movies was a great thing to put in. She even had a movie review website! It reminds me of my book love. Anna feels so relatable to me.  = >)

This book is officially going on one of the best-romance-books-I've-ever-read list. I never find myself liking romance books so much. If I had to pick between romance and paranormal, paranormal would win. I have to rethink my answer after this book.


I am so sorry..... I can't pick love triangle teams anymore. All I can think of is that, if Etienne St. Clair was transported into another book he would KICK EVERY LOVE-TRIANGLED GUYS BUTT. OH YEAH!
LOVE TRIANGE GIRLS, BEWARE.





 =  > )              =  > )                  =  >  )                        =  > )                           =  > )                  =  >)

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Guess Who Hit a Hundred Followers? (Me!)

I hit one hundred followers today. *sniffle* Wow.... I never thought thought the blog would go so far.


I really want to thank each and every one of my followers for clicking on the "follow" button. For future refrence, the button is at the top left of the blog. Ohhh it's so shiny, and clicky, you shoud try it! In fact, I might just do that myself, it's so fun... *ehem*


And thanks, also, to the readers of the blog who forgot where the shiny, clickly thingie is. You're awesome just for reading. *cough* shiny, clicky *cough*




BOOKWORMS ROCK!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Book Hop/Follow Friday

 
This is hosted by parajunkee
Here is the question for this week:
 If you mean sports teams, I have no idea. Love triangle teams.... team Ash, team Gale, team Shay. They ROCK! Whose Peeta ? Some random dude, psh. Puck? He's a even MORE random dude. Ren? To be truthful, I didn't even think there was a team Ren : P


Book Blogger Hop
This is hosted by crazy-for-books

Here is this weeks question:
"Why do you read the genre that you do? What draws you to it?"

I read YA paranormal, fantasy, sci-fi, romance, and contep.
I read it because, first, I am YA. Second, I find the book I read to be interesting for myself. You could also say I have no idea why. Haha...


ON TO THE HOPPING!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements

Stars: 4


Summary from goodreads:
 Fifteen-year-old Bobby thinks he knows what it's like to be invisible-he's used to being ignored by the popular kids at school (especially the girls). Even his parents hardly seem to notice whether he's home or not. Then one morning, Bobby wakes up to find that he IS invisible. For real. He can't stop wondering if he'll ever reappear-especially when his parents wreck their car and wind up in the hospital. Now Bobby is all alone. How can he survive in a world where he can't be seen? One thing's for sure: Bobby's not going to just wait around to see if his body will decide to show up again on its own. He's got to take action. Fast.





Review: Bobby wakes up one day, invisible. It turns out, invisibility sucks. What will he do?
He ventures out into the library. He's on his merry way, when he bumps into a blind girl. Her name is Alicia. Since she can't see, she has no idea that Bobby is invisible. Bobby starts hanging out with her, and they become good friends.
Although Bobby/Alicia is a major plot line, The big one is how did Bobby become
invisible? Both Bobby (ack! I keep, accidentally, writing booby : P ) and Alicia's try frantically to find that out.
I read this book in a day. There were so many questions.
1. Why is Bobby invisible?
2. How to make Bobby visible again.
3. Don't Bobby and Alicia make a cute couple?
Overall it is a fast, fun read that I would recommend to any one.

Getting to know Alicia was a great part of the story.
I was looking for a great book with MC's that have disabilities after Girl, Stolen, and Five Flavors of Dumb.
Anyone read any good books with MC's that have disabilities?

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Three Cheers For Middle Grade

Up until a few years ago, my book diet included all MG. Today I was feeling sad for the good old days, before sparkly vampires and the all the things that YA's YA's do, so...







5. This got me interested in blogging. Yes, before I was a book blogger, I was a proud member of Stormclan, a great Warrior Clan of the Blog World. *hangs head in shame*


4. I love Found! I've reread this book sooo many times, it's not even funny.



Add caption
 3. *Sniffle* I want to be a djinn. There needs to be a plaque for this book. Maybe I should make one...



2. At the Hop last week I said I wanted to see the movie. I rented it from redbox, and I was all happy. Then I tried to watch it. THEY MESSED IT UP. UGG, I AM SCARED FOR LIFE BECAUSE OF THE WRONGNESS OF THAT MOVIE. I kept yelling that at the screen, but apparently, it didn't hear me. I had to turn it of halfway through, to avoid throwing my nail polish at the screen and ruining my manicure.



1. This ranks higher then Harry Potter. Hate to leave on a down (or up, depending on your perspective)  note, but... THEY ARE COMING OUT WITH A MOVIE FOR FABLEHAVEN. After the Gardians of Ga'hoole movie, I have completely lost faith in the movie industry to portray the book in its full awesomeness.

What's your fav middle grade?

Friday, January 14, 2011

Across the Universe Book Launch

I tried telling my friends how awesome this event was, but they just gave me blank looks. I figured you booky people would realise how awesome it was.  Anyways, it was awesome!

When I got there I was nervous. It was my first booky event, so I guess it was justified. The event started at five and I got there at four thirty, I just browsed around the store. It was cute and more homey then the big 'ol Borders I'm use to.

Beth Revis was really nice, and it was interesting getting to know how she made her book.

And.... the moment you've all been waiting for. Drum roll please......

 Me! I promise I don't walk around like this in public! I tend to be unphotogenic.  : P

I also met Stephanie Perkins, author of Anna and the French Kiss.
I managed to look a little bit more photogenic here.   : D (Not by much)   Sadly, I didn't have the opportunity to read her book before I met her. I *have* to get it now!
There were some other book bloggers, it was fun to talk about books to someone whose eyes weren't glazing over with boredom.



When I finished  Across the Universe a few hours ago, I said frex because the book was so awesome, and I was in school. People stared at me weird.

It's a frexing awesome book! You would be loons not to read it!

Bye for now!     :  )

Monday, January 10, 2011

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies by Sonya Sones (review in verse)

Stars: 5

Summary:My name is Ruby.


This book is about me.



It tells the deeply hideous story

of what happens when my mother dies

and I'm dragged three thousand miles away

from my gorgeous boyfriend, Ray,

to live in L.A. with my father,

who I've never even met

because he's such a scumbag that he

divorced my mom before I was born.



The only way I've ever even seen him

is in the movies,

since he's this mega-famous actor

who's been way too busy

trying to win Oscars

to even visit me once in fifteen years.


Everyone loves my father.
Everyone but me.





Review:
 
This review
 
is going to be in verse.
 
One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies
 
is the first book I read in verse
 
it, was a success.
 
 
Ruby
 
is sad, mad, confused, and most of all
 
lonely.
 
LA is
 
lonely.
 
Ruby Dooby wants to
 
go home.
 
She is
 
instead
 
stuck with the father that
 
in her eyes
 
abandoned her.
 
At first
 
I was worried that
 
a book in verse, would be hard to read.
 
That I wouldn't relate to the characters.
 
I was wrong.
 
I read the
 
whole book in one
 
sitting.
 
I loved reading about
 
Ruby in LA.
 
What happens
 
to her.
 
 
 
Huh,
 
writing verse is fun.
 
 
 
(OMG
 
try to write
 
a comment in verse!
 
Yup, I am
 
a total nerd.
 
And loving it.)

Sunday, January 9, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox)

IMM is hosted by The Story Siren. To participate go here.


These books are all from the library. I usually go to the library very rarely, so when I do they have a lot of new books. I call it my "library binge" ;  ). I would have gotten more, but the library was closing in ten minutes...

 I read Hands and Teeth and I can't wait to read this.


After my non-bookish friend hyperventilated over Beautiful Creatures, I knew I had to read it.




                                                                Being by Kevin Brooks

The summary sounded interesting. The summary, annoyingly, said almost nothing.    : P




First I liked the name, then I liked the cover, then I liked the summary. I hope the book is just as good as it sounds/looks!


Longest book name ever. Plus I've never read a book in verse before..... 

Friday, January 7, 2011

Book Blog Hop

Book Blogger Hop

To participate go to Crazy For Books.


Here is the question of the week!:
"What book influenced or changed your life? How did it influence/change you?"


I can't think of anything that changed me in a really big way, maybe a little bit ;  ). I am going to sound like a total freak but... Guardians Of Ga'hoole.
I was obsessed with these books fourth/fifth grade. Me and my (also obsessed) besties would always talk about the book on the playground. We would debate what would happen next; I literally memorized the first few pages of the book : P. I have never before, and currently after, had a serious book discussion.
It influenced me. My, now and forever, favorite animal will always be an owl. I never would have met my best friend if I hadn't gotten her interested in the books. 
I was so mad when they came out with a movie. I was like, HELLO? YOU COULDN'T HAVE DONE THIS, LIKE, FOUR YEARS AGO?! Sigh... I would have literally spazzed out if they made the movie when I was in elementary school  :  (

Sunday, January 2, 2011

In Deph Look At My Rating System

6 Stars: Recently I have given out one of those. I don't expect to give out many, so I don't even have it on my sidebar. It means it put all my five star books TO SHAME.

5 Stars: If you are a long time reader if my blog, you know I give this out often. It's because I really do like most of the books I get (I only get a book if I think I will like it a lot. I guess I'm just a good picker : ). It means I would recommend it to anybody, with girlish fangirl squeals.

4 Stars: Pretty good. It's missing something a five star book has. I would maybe recommend it, but without the girlish fangirl squeals.

3 Stars: It was okay. It didn't really stick out. I could have gone without reading it. I most likely would not recommend it, except to a select group of people who like that genre, or something like that.

2 Stars: At least I could finish it. No, or little good things to say about it. I would recommend it to my worst enemy. 

1 Star: DNF, this is like a 6 star for bad books. I wouldn't wish this book upon anybody.


Tada! Pretty cool, right?

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Debute Auther Challenge

Phew... first post of 2011.




2011 Debut Author Challenge participant information:



The objective of the DAC is to read at least twelve novels from Young Adult or Middle Grade Authors. While twelve is the minimum there is no maximum limit! I encourage readers who can read more than twelve to do so!
Anyone can join. You don't have to be a blogger, and you don't have to live in the United States.

You do not have to have an blog written in English to participate.

You can join at anytime. Deadline to join is November 20, 2011. (not 2010 you still have PLENTY of time to sign up!) The challenge runs from January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011.


Qualifying books:


Books must be a Young Adult or Middle Grade novel.

DO NOTE: Just because a book has a teen character or is about a teen, does not mean that it is necessarily a Young Adult novel.

This must be the authors debut with a release date in 2011.

If an author has a previous novel published under adult fiction/nonfiction or children's fiction/nonfiction, they can still qualify for the challenge if they are releasing their YA or MG debut.




This is my first time doing the challenge, so I'm exited! Anyone else doing the Debute Auther Challenge?
To enter go here.